Each year the Art House Convergence community celebrates achievements in film exhibition and contributions to the fields of art house and independent cinema with the Spotlight Lifetime Achievement Award and the Founders’ Distinguished Service Award (The Russell B. Collins Award).

Awards are presented during the Annual Conference.

Founders’ Distinguished Service Award

This award celebrates outstanding achievements in mission-driven cinema exhibition and recognizes an individual who has consistently enriched their community by providing public access to exceptional cinematic experiences.

Past Recipients:
Taylour Chang, Doris Duke Theatre at the Honolulu Museum of Art, 2019
Dylan Skolnick, Cinema Arts Centre, 2018
Russel B. Collins, Michigan Theater Foundation, 2017

Spotlight Lifetime Achievement Award

This award recognizes an individual whose exceptional contributions to art house and independent film have sustained and invigorated the theatrical experience for future generations.

Past Recipients: 
Amy Heller and Dennis Doros, Milestone Films, 2019
Gary Meyer, 2018
Ira Deutchman, 2017

Each year members of the art house exhibition and distribution communities are invited to submit nominees for both awards. Nominees are evaluated and selected by awards committees that include previous winners, members of the Provisional Board of Directors, and members of the Alliance for Action. The membership of the awards committees changes annually.